The Almighty Cup

The Gandee Gallery and the Shaped Clay Society at Syracuse University are happy to announce the opening of The Almighty Cup, a national juried and invitational exhibition. The show presents an eclectic mix of styles of drinking vessels made by 47 ceramic artists from all over the country. It will be on view at the Gandee Gallery October 3 through November 22.  All of the work will be posted on the website by Friday, Oct 2, and online sales start after the opening on Sunday, Oct 4.  Call or email to make a purchase.  Click on Read More to see all of the pieces in the show!

This group exhibition features hand-crafted cups that range from functional to sculptural. Jeremy Randall, a ceramic artist who lives and works in Tully, NY was the juror and selected 100 cups from over 300 submissions. The Shaped Clay Society, a student-run club at Syracuse University, received the entry fees from the juried artists to support student activities and projects. Local business, Clayscapes Pottery, is sponsoring the prizes for the exhibition.  The prize winners are: Juror’s Choice Award– Matt Mitros, Rubble Trouble Mug  Shaped Clay Award– Lucien Koonce, Guinomi (sake cup #4)  Honorable Mention– Josh Manning, Cup & Saucer (#2) and Jessikah Ann, Cup.

Participating Artists Include:

Invited Artists: Peter Beaseker (NY), Linda Christianson (MN), Andrea Denniston (VA), Jen Gandee (NY), Silvie Granatelli (VA), Seth Guzovsky (VA), Steve Hansen (MI), Mark Hewitt (NC), Michael Kline (NC), Courtney Long (NC), Ted Neal (IN), Brooke Noble (NY), Jeremy Randall (NY),Yoko Sekino-Bove (PA), and Errol Willett (NY)                 Juried Artists: Hadi Abbas (FL), Jessikah Ann (MA), Anne Bernard-Pattis (IL), Sandy Blain (AZ), Stefanie Burdick (NY), Christine Caswell (ME), Amy Chase (KY), Andrea Christie (TX), Christy Culp (PA), Ashley Devitt (PA), Sydney Ewerth (AL), Cindy Gibson (IN), David Hill (TX), Bryan Hiveley (FL), Kevin Hughes (MO), Nicole Hummel (NY), Lucien Koonce (MA), Josh Manning (VA), Andrew McIntyre (MS), Matthew Mitros (AL), Ray Morales (FL), Brent Pafford (SC), Erica Passage (FL), Don Reynolds (CT), Stephen Robinson (WA), Ben Roti (AZ), Ian Shelly (IL), Alexander Thierry (KS), Alberto Veronica (NY), BJ Watson (IL), Sarah Camille Wilson (NJ), and Dallas Wooten (IN)